Viewing and Contacting Other Users

Contents

Overview

While there are a number of ways to view the other students in your Blackboard courses, the decision to share the names on a class roster within a course is the instructor’s, and the decision to share their user profile with other Pitt students is up to each individual student. Depending on the circumstances, you may be able to use the People Tool, the Roster Tool, or the Email Tool to find the names of some or all of the other students enrolled in a course.

The People Tool

The People tool will allow you to interact with the Blackboard profiles created by all Pitt users.  The People tool can be filtered down to the course level by going to the Global Navigation menu Global Navigation Menu and selecting the People icon People icon.  This will allow you to view other students in your courses who have made their profiles visible.

NOTE:  Users with their profiles set to private will not be visible through the People tool.

The Roster Tool

The Roster tool must be enabled by your instructor in order to be used. If the Roster tool is enabled, you can find it in your course’s Course Menu, or in the Course Tools area if your instructor has made that available. Please consult your instructor if you wish to use this tool but find that it is not available in your course.

The Email Tool

The Email tool must be enabled by your instructor in order to be used. If the Email tool is enabled, you can find it in your course’s Course Menu or in the Course Tools area if your instructor has made that available. The Email tool allows you to send an email to any user in your Blackboard course.  It can also be used to send out a mass email to all students, all teachers, or all users in general.  Please consult your instructor if you wish to use this tool but find that it is not available in your course.