- Set Up Your Profile
- Choose an Email Address
- Profile Privacy Settings
- Make the Most of Your Profile
- Terms of Service Agreement
- Delete Your Profile
A profile is not the same as your user account.
- A user account is a reflection of your student registration information at your institution. You can edit your user account information by editing your personal information. To learn more, see How to Edit Personal Information.
- A profile is a reflection of how you want to present yourself to your peers, classmates, and instructors. In your Blackboard profile, you decide what you want to be called, what your academic interests are, and anything else you want to share with other users.
Profiles are stored in the Blackboard cloud instead of at your institution. This means that you can keep your profile through your academic and professional life. If you enroll at a different institution or join the workforce, you can maintain your academic relationships and networks using the same profile.
Double-click the video to enlarge the viewing area.
If your institution has turned on social media integration, you can copy your Facebook and Twitter picture, description, and email.
If prompted, you must accept the terms of service and provide an email address before setting up your profile.
If you do not see an empty profile icon in the My Blackboard menu, your institution has not turned on the profiles feature.
When you first set up your initial profile, you are automatically prompted to provide a primary email. The primary email address is used to identify you in Blackboard Learn at any institution.
Make sure to use a personal email address in your profile because you will likely lose access to the email address provided by your institution when you leave. If you use an address that you will eventually lose access to, you also will eventually lose access to your profile and all of the relationships that you have built through the network.
The system sends you a verification email containing a link that directs you back to your profile, verifying your identity as the owner of that email address. Once verified, your profile is linked to that email address.
The privacy settings in your personal profile set how your profile appears in the My Blackboard menu. Read each option on the Edit My Profile page carefully to decide which users can view your profile.
- Public (recommended): If you do not see this option, your institution has not turned it on. If you select this option, anyone with a Blackboard profile can find and view you on the People page. They do not have to be enrolled in the same institution, course, or organization as you. Your name and avatar appear throughout your courses, and users can view a preview of your profile from there.
- My Institution (recommended): If you select this option, anyone at your institution can find and view you on the People page. They do not have to be enrolled in the same course or organization as you. Your name and avatar appear throughout your courses, and users can view a preview of your profile from there.
- Private: If you select this option, only users who are enrolled in the same course or organization as you can find and view you on the People page. Your name and avatar appear throughout your courses, and users can view a preview of your profile from there.
- Hidden: If you select this option, no users can find and view you on the People page. Your name and avatar appear throughout your courses, but users cannot view a preview of your profile from there.
In the Settings section, use the Set Privacy Options to set what information you want to appear throughout your courses. To learn more, see How to Set Privacy Options.
More workplaces are performing social screening before hiring to evaluate a candidate’s character, personality, and fit with their company. For this reason, present yourself appropriately in your Blackboard profile, which is intended for lifelong academic and professional networking.
Most workplaces are performing social screening to:
- See how you present yourself.
- See how well you communicate.
- See if you would be a good fit with their company culture.
- Learn more about your qualifications.
- See if you are well-rounded.
- Look for reasons not to hire you.
You choose how the world sees you. Give the right impression through the pictures and words you use. Choose photos and topics that convey a professional image of you. Avoid using or saying anything provocative or inappropriate.
Make sure what you say online accurately represents how you want a future employer to see you. Check and recheck what you write before posting. Spelling mistakes look bad and are easy to catch and fix. Post positive and constructive comments. Avoid making discriminatory comments and talking about drinking or using drugs.
As you present yourself online, you must be safe. To learn more, see Protecting Your Reputation and Identity Online.
Double-click the video to enlarge the viewing area.
If prompted, users must accept the Blackboard Profile Terms of Service before they can access any of the Cloud Profiles and Social features for the first time. These features include Edit Profile, View Profile (your own or another user’s), People, Messages, or Spaces.
Your institution can include their policy statement. However, the terms of service contract is between you and Blackboard.
If prompted, you must agree to the Blackboard Terms of Service before you can continue using your previously created Profile, or accessing People, Messages, or Spaces. You will be asked to agree to the terms of service the first time you access any of those tools.
If you agree to the terms of service, all of your profile information and activity will remain the same. If you decline the terms of service, your existing profile and any activity in the social tools, such as wall posts and messages, is deleted permanently.
The Profile deletion process is irreversible. You can always create a new profile, but it will not “re-attach” to any of your previous data, such as posts made to Spaces and your profile wall.
You can delete your profile by clicking your avatar to access the Edit Profile page. When you click Delete My Blackboard Profile:
- The Profile is deleted. This includes all of the profile information, the profile card, the avatar photo, the profile wall and its posts, and comments other users made on the profile wall posts.
- You may not be able to access some content in your courses. Items that had appeared in a user’s Posts stream from the cloud services will be inaccessible.
- The People tool is no longer available. You will no longer be able to access the People tool or view other user’s full profiles, although profile cards will still be viewable. Your profile will not be discoverable as it no longer exists. Any comments you made on other user’s profile walls will appear as “Deleted User.”
- The Messages tool is no longer available. You will no longer be able to access the Messages tool in My Blackboard, and your contributions to existing messages will appear as “Deleted User.” Within your courses, course messages and email will continue to function normally.
- The Spaces tool is no longer available. You will no longer be able to access Spaces. Any previous contributions to Spaces will appear as “Deleted User.”